TL;DR
Get health and wellness essentials delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Kivo Health raised $10 million in a Series A round led by Allumia Ventures, bringing its total financing to $16 million. The Seattle company plans to expand its virtual home-care program nationwide and says it hopes to reach tens of thousands of patients within two years.
Seattle-based Kivo Health, which provides virtual care at home for people with chronic lung disease, has raised $10 million in Series A financing to fund national expansion. The round, led by Allumia Ventures, brings the company’s total financing to $16 million as it aims to extend its COPD program to more patients.
Additional investors in the round include Corewell Health Ventures, Y Combinator, Heuristic Capital and MassMutual Ventures. Kivo said the financing will support its plan to expand nationwide. Chief Executive and co-founder Victor Sadauskas told Home Health Care News the company aims to provide care to tens of thousands of patients over the next two years.
Kivo’s current service centers on chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD). Enrolled patients receive a home kit containing a tablet, oxygen monitor and exercise bands. They meet virtually with a respiratory therapist, who assesses their symptoms and develops an individual plan. The company says patients then join small-group sessions with respiratory therapists twice a week for nine weeks, covering breathing techniques, targeted exercises and COPD-management resources.
Kivo describes its model as a way to support people between clinical visits and intervene earlier when their symptoms need attention. Its stated goal is to improve patients’ quality of life and reduce avoidable hospital use. Those are company aims, not independently established outcomes in the financing announcement.
Funding Supports a Wider COPD Reach
The financing gives Kivo additional capital to take a home-based care model beyond its existing reach. For patients with COPD, the program is designed to provide recurring contact with respiratory therapists outside traditional appointments, while giving care teams a way to support management at home. Whether wider availability translates into better health outcomes or lower costs will depend on results as the service expands.
The company says its service is covered by Medicare, Medicaid and several commercial health plans, including UnitedHealthcare, Humana, Blue Cross, Aetna and Priority Health. Coverage may make the program accessible to people who qualify, but the financing report does not detail eligibility rules, geographic availability or costs for individual members.
Products Worth Considering

Fitbit Versa 2 Health and Fitness Smartwatch with Bonus Bands

Blueair Blue Pure 511i Max Air Purifier for Home and Bedroom

Fitbit Sense Advanced Smartwatch – Sage Grey/Silver (One Size, S & L Bands Included)
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
How Kivo’s Home Program Works
Kivo’s model combines technology used in the home with a prescribed care plan and virtual sessions. Patients use the supplied tablet and monitoring equipment to participate in care, while respiratory therapists guide exercises and discuss ways to manage COPD. The nine-week group program is the service format described by the company’s website in the report.
Kivo says it has delivered tens of thousands of sessions and provided access to care for thousands of patients. Sadauskas also said the service has improved symptoms and saved health plans money by reducing unnecessary hospitalizations, emergency-room visits and nursing-home days. Those performance statements were made by the company; the report does not provide independent evaluation details or the underlying study methods.
The company says it intends to broaden its care model beyond COPD to other high-cost chronic illnesses. It has also claimed that its program reduces total health spending by $8,245 per member per year. The available report does not specify the comparison group, time period or methodology behind that estimate.
“We plan to expand nationwide to deliver care to tens of thousands of patients in the next two years.”
— Victor Sadauskas, Kivo Health co-founder and CEO, in an email to Home Health Care News
Expansion Metrics Still Need Detail
The announcement does not disclose Kivo’s current patient count, revenue, geographic footprint or how the new funding will be allocated. It also does not identify a specific schedule for entering new markets or state how many patients are currently enrolled in the nine-week program.
The company’s reported savings estimate and claims about symptom improvement are not accompanied in the source report by study design, comparison baselines or independent findings. It is also unclear which other chronic illnesses Kivo may target, when it might add them, and whether the current care format or payer coverage would change as the company grows.
National Rollout and New Conditions
Kivo says it plans to expand across the United States and reach tens of thousands of patients within two years. The company has also said it intends to adapt its care model for other high-cost chronic illnesses, but has not named those conditions or provided launch dates in the report.
Further updates will be needed to show where the service becomes available, how many patients enroll and whether the program’s claimed health and cost effects hold up at broader scale. The funding announcement does not provide a timeline for those updates.
Key Questions
How much funding did Kivo Health raise?
Kivo raised $10 million in Series A financing. The company’s overall financing now totals $16 million.
Who led the funding round?
Allumia Ventures led the round. Corewell Health Ventures, Y Combinator, Heuristic Capital and MassMutual Ventures also participated.
What care does Kivo Health provide?
Kivo currently focuses on virtual home care for people with COPD. Its program includes a home kit, assessment by a respiratory therapist and twice-weekly virtual group sessions over nine weeks, according to the company’s website as described in the report.
What does Kivo plan to do with the financing?
The company says it will use the financing to support national expansion. It aims to reach tens of thousands of patients within two years and says it intends to expand its model to other high-cost chronic illnesses.
Are Kivo’s cost-savings claims independently verified?
The report attributes a claim of $8,245 in annual savings per member to Kivo but does not provide the comparison baseline, time period or study methodology. The claim is not independently verified in the available source material.
Source: homehealthcarenews.com
